Sonic Automotive Chairman O Smith's 2018 pay falls 26% to $3.3M

Sonic Automotive reports 2018 executive compensation

Published: March 13, 2019

Sonic Automotive reported fiscal year 2018 executive compensation information on March 13, 2019.

In 2018, five executives at Sonic Automotive received on average a compensation package of $2.6M, a 25% decrease compared to previous year.

Average pay of disclosed executives at Sonic Automotive

O. Bruton Smith, Chairman, received $3.3M in total, which decreased by 26% compared to 2017. 46.32% of Smith's compensation, or $1.5M, was in stock awards. Smith also received $321.2K in non-equity incentive plan, $1.3M in salary, as well as $143.5K in other compensation.

B. Scott Smith, Chief Executive Officer, received a compensation package of $2.9M, which decreased by 25% compared to previous year. 44.87% of the compensation package, or $1.3M, was in stock awards.

David Bruton Smith, Chief Executive Officer, earned $2.7M in 2018, a 5% increase compared to previous year.

Jeff Dyke, President and Executive Vice President of Operations, received $2.5M in 2018, which decreases by 36% compared to 2017.

Heath R. Byrd, Chief Financial Officer, earned $1.8M in 2018, a 36% decrease compared to previous year.